SWTOR Advanced Classes

During Gamescom the developers announced the advanced classes system. While the details were then vague, we now have more information about it straight from the official site.

Advanced Classes are specialized careers that your characters can choose in Star Wars: The Old Republic. Advanced Classes (often abbreviated ACs) are chosen on your faction’s capital world – either Coruscant or Dromund Kaas – when your character reaches level 10 or above. Each base class gets a choice of two Advanced Classes; for example if you are playing a Jedi Knight, you will be able to choose to play the Jedi Guardian or Jedi Sentinel Advanced Class. This decision is equally as important as when you originally created your character. This is because your choice will not only make your character more distinct and powerful, but it will also help further define the role you wish to play in The Old Republic.

In addition to your Class-specific Skills and Abilities, your chosen Advanced Class will grant you access to role-defining Abilities that represent additional areas of expertise and some may even grant new weapon and armor types. Additionally, each Advanced Class will also have three sets of Skills available to further customize your character.

The chart above is not representative of any of the current Advanced Class Skill Sets, nor does it show exactly how many Skills you may potentially access. It is included to provide an example of how a character, in this case a Sith Warrior, may look as he progresses through one Advanced Class (note that the other Advanced Class Skill Sets are disabled and cannot be trained).

As mentioned above, each Advanced Class opens up three Skill Sets with a variety of Skills in each. Unlike selecting an Advanced Class, these Skill Sets are less restrictive and your character can obtain Skills from any set or from all of them!

Shared Skill Set:

While the first two Skill Sets include Skills entirely unique to the chosen Advanced Classes, the third Skill Set consists of a shared set of Skills which expand upon the core Skills of the Class itself.

One thing to note is that you use the same pool of points when training your Advanced Classes Skills, so spend your points wisely!

Class Abilities

As you level up, your character will gain abilities from three sources:

  • Through trainers, from their base class (e.g. Sith Warrior)
  • Through trainers, from their advanced class (e.g. Marauder)
  • Through skill points spent in the skill trees of their Advanced Class

Skill Trees

Each skill tree provides access to a number of active abilities (which are added to your ability bar, and can be activated during play). You can also assign your training points to passive abilities. Passive abilities are ‘always on’, and alter how your base class abilities work.

It is important to note that the choices you make in your skill tree never subtract from your base class abilities; they instead improve and add to the character’s arsenal.

Skill Tree Choices

Imagine a Sith Warrior character, with the Juggernaut Advanced Class. As part of the tanking and control themed ‘Immortal’ skill tree, he may choose to learn Force Grip. This upgrades the base class ability Force Choke from being a channeled ability, requiring several seconds to activate, to being an instantly used ability. This increases the Juggernaut’s effectiveness at engaging multiple enemies at once, as those being choked not only take significant damage, but are also unable to act. The Force is indeed strong with this ability!

The Marauder Advanced Class on the other hand, as part of the ‘Annihilation’ skill tree, can opt to learn the Close Quarters ability, removing the minimum range requirement from Force Charge. A Marauder with Close Quarters, instead of just opening combat with Force Charge, can use it multiple times in the course of a fight – reinforcing the Marauder’s role as a highly mobile melee damage dealer who moves quickly between multiple enemies on the battlefield.

As well as these two Advanced Class-specific skill trees, both the Juggernaut and the Marauder have access to the shared ‘Rage’ skill tree. Abilities in this skill tree improve the control, mobility and burst damage capability of characters who invest into it – all traits desirable to both the Marauder and the Juggernaut. A sample ability here would be Force Crush, a powerful and very iconic force power that crushes every bone in an enemy’s body.

Remember, you will always have access to a limited number of training points to spend in your skill tree, so your choices are important. You may choose – for an in-game credits fee – to re-assign your skill points if you wish, so you can experiment to find your perfect combination. Any one of the three skill trees are valid to specialize in, or you can spend training points in all of them for a more well-rounded character.

Advanced Classes List

You can read more details about each advanced class if you follow the links to the specific class guide page below.



  • Heavy Blaster Cannon
  • Grenades
  • Ranged DPS


  • Blaster Rifle
  • Energy Shields
  • Defense Tank



  • Blaster ‘Shot Gun’
  • Stealth / Medicine
  • Burst ranged damage or Healing


  • Dual Pistols
  • Quickdraw / Fast Attacks
  • Ranged DPS

Jedi Knight

Jedi Sentinel

  • Dual Wield Saber
  • Saber fighting specialist
  • Melee DPS

Jedi Guardian

  • Single Saber / Heavy Armor
  • Leadership / Party Buffs
  • Tank

Jedi Consular

Jedi Shadow

  • Double Bladed Saber
  • Stealth
  • Burst melee damage

Jedi Wizard

  • Single Saber
  • Powerful Telekinesis / Healing
  • Ranged Control / Damage or Healing

Bounty Hunter


  • Flamethrower
  • Defense / Energy Shields
  • Tank


  • Dual Wield Guns
  • Missiles
  • Ranged DPS

Sith Warrior

Sith Juggernaut

  • Single Saber / Heavy Armor
  • Fear and Darkside Auras
  • Tank

Sith Marauder

  • Dual Wield Sabers / Armor
  • Saber fighting specialist
  • Melee DPS

Imperial Agent


  • Blaster Rifle / Energy Blade
  • Stealth
  • Burst Ranged damage


  • Sniper Rifle
  • Cover, Ambush, Orbital Strikes
  • Ranged DPS

Sith Inquisitor

Sith Sorcerer

  • Single Saber
  • Force Lightning / Force Drain
  • Ranged DPS or Healer

Sith Assassin

  • Double Bladed Saber
  • Stealth
  • Burst Melee DPS